Genitals from Space:

Case file under the odd and fascinating;
Podocarpus in fruit have been mentioned here several times and I have shared several shots of the plant throughout this season. But now is the time and the moment of truth literally. I have no other Podocarpus on the property. I bought this plant in full fruit knowing that it was a dice toss. It is either this crop or none again. No male no fruit next year. Still won’t be but I think I have the shortage solved. The fruit have ripened and most of them have dropped. They are not your common germination. This pedicule looking thing begins to form at the base of the “berry” and extends out looking for something to strike roots in.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis can occur with dropped berries or even some of these on the plant still. Plant seems to be in possession of several multi colored single testicled space phallus.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI swear if it starts speaking I will burn it. Just thought you might be interested in how “odd” some plants can be. The berries you see above fall and strike roots right on the brownish tip ends. Then the plant kind of backs out of the fruit. All very odd. But I still filled a tray with some very coarse organic/coarse silica soil mix just to get their feet under them. Should have no shortage of Podocarpus if even half what I lifted from the hollows in that shipping pallet survive. I admit it I have done my best to watch the water on this all Summer. I am also glad that it has yielded such a plethora of viable seed. Seed? Given that they do sprout on the tree and are really just a trunk waiting to happen, would this be a seed? a seedling? Get back with you on that. I am sure there is a term for this.

 

epimatium

 

 

Leave a comment